Expertise / Bankruptcy, Insolvency, and Restructuring Bankruptcy and Insolvency

Whether you’re already in the bankruptcy process or, rather, in the proposal and arrangement process, we’re here to help.

While many questions can be answered with the help of the guides, sample letters and forms in our legal toolkit, an independent jurist affiliated with PSP Legal will always be happy to help you by answering any questions you may have.

Of course, if you prefer to have an experienced practitioner take charge of your situation and intervene directly and quickly on your behalf, you can also request that one of the independent jurists affiliated with PSP Legal represent you by clicking here.

 

What are bankruptcy and proposals?

Bankruptcy generally occurs when a debtor is unable to pay its debts to creditors. In such circumstances, the debtor may make a proposal to creditors, or enter into an arrangement with them to render the debt unpayable when the agreement is completed. If a proposal or arrangement cannot be made, the debtor may file for bankruptcy. 

The first requirement for bankruptcy is that the debtor be insolvent. An insolvent person within the meaning of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act is one who meets the following three criteria:

  • He or she owes more than one thousand dollars ($1,000);
  • He or she resides in Canada or holds property in Canada;
  • He or she is unable to meet his or her current obligations, or has ceased to meet his or her current obligations, or the totality of his or her property is insufficient to discharge the debt.

 

Proposal and arrangement

A proposal is an agreement under which an insolvent person undertakes to pay all creditors all or part of their debts, immediately or in the future.

 

The three (3) types of proposal for a debtor

  1. The first type is the composition proposal. This is the classic type, since it is available to any person, whether natural or legal.
  2. The second proposal is for a consumer debtor with a debt of less than two hundred and fifty thousand dollars ($250,000). The consumer-debtor could then make a consumer proposal, which is substantially similar to the composition proposal, but more simplified.
  3. The third option is to make an arrangement with creditors. However, this option is only available to legal entities with debts in excess of $5 million, as set out in the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act.

The proposal and arrangement process begins with the filing of a notice of intention with the debtor’s creditors.  This notice of intention generally suspends any recourse against the debtor.

 

The three (3) ways to declare bankruptcy:

Forced bankruptcy

Forced bankruptcy is a bankruptcy process initiated by one of the debtor’s creditors. Generally speaking, it is the creditor to whom the debtor owes a considerable sum of money, and who finds it to his or her advantage to put the debtor into bankruptcy, who initiates this process. The advantage for such a creditor of putting his debtor into bankruptcy is to move up a rank in the order of collocation of creditors. The conditions under which a creditor can petition a debtor into bankruptcy are as follows:

  • The debtor generally has several creditors holding provable, i.e. unsecured, claims;
  • The creditor has a claim of more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) against the debtor;
  • The debtor resides and operates in Canada;
  • The debtor has committed an act of bankruptcy within the meaning of section 42 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.

Voluntary assignment of property

Voluntary assignment of property is the act whereby a debtor voluntarily transfers all his property to a trustee in bankruptcy for the benefit of his creditors. The debtor must first find a trustee in bankruptcy who will accept his or her file. Debtors eligible to make a voluntary assignment in bankruptcy are natural or legal persons who are insolvent within the meaning of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act. In addition, a person wishing to make a voluntary assignment must not be bankrupt. Consequently, if a person has already filed for bankruptcy, he or she must be discharged from bankruptcy in order to file for a second bankruptcy.

Presumed bankruptcy

The third type of bankruptcy is presumed bankruptcy. This occurs when a proposal or arrangement fails. The debtor is then presumed to have made an assignment of his assets. The bankruptcy process is triggered by the failure of a proposal, a notice of intention or a default in the proposal process provided for in the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act

 

Termination of bankruptcy and proposal

A proposal ends when the term of the agreement between a creditor and a debtor expires. The main effect of the proposal is that debts that were previously payable by the creditor will no longer be payable when the agreement expires. Thus, even if the debt is not extinguished in the strict sense of the term, it becomes impossible for a creditor to claim his claim following the end of the proposal process in which he participated.

Bankruptcy ends when the debtor is discharged. Bankrupts may be discharged from bankruptcy in one of three ways: ex officio discharge, discharge before a hearing, or discharge in the case of a large tax debt.

 

How we can help

Our legal toolkit includes a variety of online resources and links to templates and guides to help you better understand your obligations.

However, should the Legal Toolkit prove insufficient in your situation, you can obtain additional assistance by speaking with one of PSP Legal’s affiliated jurists:

Of course, if you prefer to have an experienced practitioner handle your situation, you can always request that one of the independent jurists affiliated with PSP Legal intervene on your behalf by clicking here. He or she will then be able to intervene directly and rapidly on your behalf by:

  • Preparing, negotiating and drafting applications, procedures or any other legal documents related to your situation;
  • Assisting and advising you on your legal rights and obligations;
  • Representing you before the courts when legal action is taken;
  • Guiding you through the choices available to you, leading to a fair and satisfactory solution.

 

PSP Legal, because you deserve expert advice!

Ressources Receive our newsletter

Subscribe to our newsletter

Selon que vous soyez déjà dans le processus de la faillite ou, plutôt, que vous soyez dans le processus de la proposition et de l’arrangement, nous sommes là pour vous aider.

Ainsi, même si plusieurs situations relevant du domaine de la faillite peuvent être résolues à l’aide des guides, modèles de lettre et formulaires que vous pouvez consulter dans notre trousse d’outils juridiques en ligne, un avocat indépendant affilié à PSP Légal se fera toujours un plaisir de vous aider en vous répondant :

Bien entendu, si vous préférez qu’un praticien chevronné en droit de la faillite prenne en charge votre situation et intervienne directement et rapidement en votre nom, il vous est également possible de demander que l’un des avocats indépendants affiliés à PSP Légal vous représente en cliquant simplement ici.

Qu’est-ce que la faillite et la proposition ?

La faillite survient généralement lorsqu’une personne débitrice n’arrive plus à payer ses dettes à ses créanciers. Dans ces circonstances, le débiteur pourra faire une proposition à ses créanciers ou prendre un arrangement avec ceux-ci afin de rendre la dette non exigible lorsque l’entente sera terminée. Lorsqu’il n’est pas possible de faire une proposition ou de prendre un arrangement, le débiteur pourra alors faire faillite. 

La première exigence pour qu’un débiteur puisse faire faillite, est que celui-ci soit insolvable. Une personne insolvable au sens de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité une personne satisfaisant à ces trois critères :

  • Elle a plus de mille dollars (1000$) de dettes;
  • Elle réside au Canada ou détient des biens au Canada;
  • Elle est incapable de remplir ses obligations ou elle a cessé d’acquitté ses obligations courantes ou la totalité des biens qu’elle possède ne suffit pas pour permettre l’acquittement de la dette

La proposition et l’arrangement

La proposition est un accord en vertu duquel une personne insolvable s’engage envers l’ensemble de ses créanciers à leur payer les dettes qu’elle a envers eux en totalité ou en partie, immédiatement ou à terme.

Les trois (3) types de proposition pour un débiteur

  1. La première proposition est la proposition concordataire. Elle est le régime classique puisqu’elle est accessible à toute personne, qu’elle soit physique ou morale.
  2. La seconde proposition est dans le cas d’un débiteur consommateur ayant une dette inférieure à deux cent cinquante mille dollars (250 000$). Le débiteur-consommateur pourrait ainsi faire une proposition de consommateur qui étant sensiblement semblable à la proposition concordataire, mais davantage simplifiée.
  3. La troisième possibilité est de prendre un arrangement avec ses créanciers. Toutefois, cette possibilité est offerte seulement aux personnes morales ayant plus de cinq millions de dollars de dettes, et ce, tel que prévu par la Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies

La proposition et l’arrangement se font d’abord par le dépôt d’un avis d’intention auprès des créanciers du débiteur.  Cet avis d’intention permet généralement de suspendre les recours entrepris contre le débiteur.

Les trois (3) manières de faire faillite

La faillite forcée

La faillite forcée est le processus de faillite qui est à l’initiative d’un des créanciers du débiteur. Généralement, ce sera le créancier à qui le débiteur doit une somme d’argent considérable et qui trouve un avantage à mettre son débiteur en faillite qui engagera ce processus. L’avantage pour un tel créancier de mettre son débiteur en faillite est de monter d’un rang dans l’ordre de collocation des créanciers. Les conditions pour qu’un créancier puisse mettre un débiteur en faillite sont les suivantes :

  • Le débiteur a généralement plusieurs créanciers détenant des réclamations prouvables, c’est-à-dire non garanties;
  • Le créancier détient une créance de plus de mille dollars (1000$) contre le débiteur;
  • Le débiteur réside au Canada et y exerce ses activités;
  • Le débiteur a commis un acte de faillite au sens de l’article 42 de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité

La cession de bien volontaire

La cession de biens volontaire est l’acte par lequel un débiteur transfère volontairement tous ses biens à un syndic de faillite au profit de ses créanciers. Le débiteur devra donc préalablement se trouver un syndic de faillite qui acceptera de prendre son dossier. Les débiteurs pouvant faire une cession de biens volontaire sont les personnes physiques ou morales étant insolvables au sens de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité. De plus, une personne voulant faire une cession de biens volontaire ne doit pas être en faillite. Par conséquent, si celle-ci a déjà fait faillite, elle devra en être libérée pour pouvoir faire une deuxième faillite.

La faillite présumée

Le troisième type de faillite est la faillite présumée. Elle intervient lorsqu’un dossier de proposition ou d’arrangement échoue. Le débiteur sera alors présumé avoir fait cession de ses biens. Le processus de faillite est donc déclenché par l’échec d’une proposition, de l’avis d’intention ou d’un défaut dans le déroulement du processus d’une proposition prévu dans la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité

La fin de la faillite et de la proposition

En ce qui a trait à la proposition, celle-ci prend fin lors de l’arrivé du terme prévu à l’entente intervenue entre un créancier et un débiteur. L’effet principal de la proposition est que les dettes qui étaient auparavant exigibles par le créancier ne le seront plus à l’arrivé du terme de l’entente. Ainsi, même si la dette n’est pas éteinte à proprement parlé, il devient impossible pour un créancier de réclamer sa créance suivant la fin du processus de proposition auquel il a participé.

Pour la faillite, elle prend fin lorsque le débiteur est libéré de celle-ci. Un failli peut être libéré d’une faillite de trois manières notamment par la libération d’office, la libération devant audition et la libération dans le cas d’une dette fiscale importante.

Comment nous pouvons vous assister

Notre trousse d’outils juridiques en ligne comprend diverses ressources  en ligne et hyperliens vers des modèles et guides d’élaboration de politiques visant à contrer le processus de proposition et de faillite et mettant en place différentes solutions.

Par contre, même si notre trousse d’outils juridiques en ligne peut vous soutenir dans la rédaction de votre propre solution, un avocat indépendant affilié à PSP Légal se fera toujours un plaisir de vous assister en vous répondant :

Bien entendu, si vous préférez qu’un praticien chevronné en droit de la faillite prenne en charge votre situation, il vous est possible de demander en tout temps que l’un des avocats indépendants affiliés à PSP Légal intervienne en votre nom en cliquant ici. Ce dernier pourra alors intervenir directement et rapidement en votre nom en :  

  • Préparant, rédigeant et mettant en place pour votre bénéfice une politique visant à contrer le processus de faillite et de proposition;
  • Vous représentant devant les tribunaux;
  • Vous mettant en contact avec un syndic de faillite.

Ressources Reçevez nos outils et nouvelles en premier

Inscrivez-vous à notre bulletin d’information